Challenge #7-Music “A Nightingale Sings”


The latest Uncommon Threads challenge was Music. While at our retreat last fall,I played with some “birdie” fabric and lacy stuff that Merrilee brought, then put it away. How serendipitous! I pulled it out and created my challenge from what she gave me.

The dots are beads and the blue wings are hand embroidered with metallic thread. A real nightingale is just another brown bird, but with such a beautiful name I think it should be more colorful! My free hand machine quilting is getting better but still not what I want it to be.

The title, “A Nightingale Sings” is from the title of the song, “A Nightingale Sings in Barkley Square.” You should hear Nat King Cole sing it. Oh my! You can view the rest of the groups’ work here.

Explore posts in the same categories: 12 x 12, Archives, Art Quilts, birds, free motion quilting, inspiration, Machine embroidery, small works

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

