I’ve Been Away


We’ve been away.  First – to our annual high school reunion.

This was the grade school I attended. It was the only school way before me and it’s long gone now. But we all get nostalgic over this picture remembering each other and teachers. I started there in the sixth grade but about six of my class mates started first grade and attended all 12 grades. There were about 60 in my graduating class; the town’s population was just shy of 2000 then. Now it’s about 2014. Hasn’t grown much. BUT – the point I want to make is that the Alumni Scholarship Club awarded $36,000 in Scholarships this year. I think that is positively amazing for such a small community to raise such generous alumni and they do it year after year. I applaud you, Willow Springs.

Second – From there we headed straight to coastal North Carolina to deliver a boat. It was hot, hot, hot. By the time we got back home we were hot, tired, hot, grumpy, and hot. But the Smoky Mountains were beautiful and cool and I loved it there.


And Third – I have just uploaded the “Notan” theme 12″x12″ art quilts for the Uncommon Threads blog. You may view them individually here.

Explore posts in the same categories: 12 x 12, Archives, Art Quilts, Landscapes, Travel

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “I’ve Been Away”

  1. Marty Corcoran Says:

    Wow what a stunner!


Leave a Reply

