May UT 12×12 Challenge


The next Uncommon Threads  12×12 challenge was due at our May meeting. Incredible obstacles kept me from the meeting – you don’t want to hear me whine – and I’m terribly disappointed that I couldn’t make it. But here is my challenge piece. The inspiration, chosen by Lucy Silliman, was NOTAN. It’s a Japanese word having to do with high contrast. i.e. black/white, light/dark, etc.

I chose to work on a 5″ square piece of black paper and transpose it to black fabric. Fused that to a white background and then hand quilted it.

I get to pick the next challenge which will be using this lower image as inspiration. One may use the title “Bittersweet,” the color, or the design. I haven’t a clue as to how I am going to approach this.I may be my own worst enemy!


Explore posts in the same categories: 12 x 12, Archives, Art Quilts, challenge, inspiration

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “May UT 12×12 Challenge”

  1. Ellen White Says:

    Great job with the value contrast and the design elements contrast as well. I enjoyed studying it.


Leave a Reply

