ATGB detail


Seems like this project has been on my design wall forever. Remember the Bird? Still working on it. Not the bird, the whole piece. Total size 43″ x 36″.

Have begun quilting it and it’s been fun and challenging. The challenge was to quilt the garment of which you can see parts in both photos. It is made of a poly burn-out velvet sort of fabric which is very puffy. The fun was this sort of boxy quilting on part of the border. It made the silk “Pop”.

Obviously I think I need to do something about the words. They don’t show up very well. Or maybe they shouldn’t. That’s one decision I need to deal with. The other is this last part of the border that needs quilting. I just can’t quite get there!

I did a little machine quilting and ripped it out. Thinking about some hand quilting. Think I would like to high-light the yellow, but not too much. My art quilt group, Uncommon Threads, meets tomorrow. I’ll take this and maybe get some suggestions. Stay tuned.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Archives, Art Quilts

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

