Machine Enhancement


It’s been a long time since I’ve done any machine embroidery and I’d forgotten how much fun it is. After printing the grackle on fabric, I highlighted the bring colors with freehand machine embroidery then ironed wonder under to the back of the bird and fused it to the art quilt.

The blue and yellow at his feet has been cut away before fusing to the background. Here’s a detail:

He shows up on his background much better now. I also, just slightly, painted/rubbed a little interference gold on the stitching to make it a little more sparkly but that doesn’t show in the picture.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Archives, Art Quilts, birds, Machine embroidery

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Machine Enhancement”

  1. Ellen White Says:

    I love your bird! It’s not the one I chose before because this one didn’t show up well and I didn’t realize you were going to do stitching on it. Well, of course i should have known you would. I actually liked the style of this one better before.


Leave a Reply

