Curved Piecing Tutorial


Yesterday I told a friend that I’d show her how to do curved piecing as I was taught in a Nancy Crow workshop. Then we got too busy talking and I forgot. So here it the tutorial, Friend. Let me know if it needs more clarification.

Here I’m using two fabrics; one blue and one gold. As Nancy says, I’ve used my rotary cutter as a drawing tool and I have cut a curve on the gold fabric.

Lay the gold fabric on top of the blue fabric.

Now cut a curve on the blue fabric, following the same line as the gold fabric.

You’ll see that you have mirror images of the same curves on the two fabrics.

Lay one fabric over the other fabric face down so that the right side of each fabric is facing the other. Use one pin to fasten the curved edges together at the beginning of the seam.

Begin sewing at the top of the seam using a 1/4″ seam. And, with this technique, it doesn’t have to be a perfect quarter inch. We’re not matching points are anything.

Continue sewing your quarter inch seam holding curved edges together. Yes, it looks like it’s not going to work; there’s a big “fluff.” Do it anyway. It’s like sewing a sleeve into the arm’s eye if you were making a blouse.

Now you’ve sewn the whole seam and, yes, that “fluff” is still there. Take it to the ironing board.

At the ironing board, open the two fabrics,

and press open. You did it. It’s flat. Now go and create something unique and beautiful.

Explore posts in the same categories: Archives, Art Quilts, tutorial

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Curved Piecing Tutorial”

  1. Sheryl Says:

    Beautiful step by step tutorial. I will try it and let you know the results. Thank you!

  2. sharon Says:

    thanks Emmie

  3. sew4real Says:

    thank you sew much for this easy explanation! I was getting really frustrated because I didn’t know what I was doing wrong- I knew it couldn’t be *that* complex!


Leave a Reply

