Gooseberries


Time out from creating fiber art and being more domestic. I’m in the process of cleaning out an old flower bed under four hickory trees. DON”T EVER make a flower bed under trees. Besides their nuts falling and making new baby trees, birds sit in the trees and drop seeds from every thing else; like poison ivy, virginia creeper, grape vines, red bud trees, I could go on and on about the stuff I pull up. I should have taken a before picture because it’s beginning to look better now. I’ll do that on the next bed. Yes. There are two beds under trees. I never learn!

On a more positive note, there was one little goose berry bush here when I bought this house nine years ago. It has expanded to three and here is what it has produced. There must be three or four quarts of berries. Ummmmmmm.

Actually there were five quarts; four of which I froze and the fifth made a yummy pie. We couldn’t wait till supper!

Explore posts in the same categories: Archives, inspiration, Landscapes, ozark stories

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Gooseberries”

  1. pamdora Says:

    What a beautiful pie! I love the topping – leave it to a fiber artist to weave the pie crust, lol.

  2. Marty Corcoran Says:

    Exquisite- we will have a bumper ctop of blackberries this year. Let me know if you want to brave the heat and ticks and we can pick when they’re ripe in early July. I would love to get together sometime even if we just have a cup of Joe. Let me know when you might be in the neighborhood or in Spfld. Love you honey


Leave a Reply

