Another Apron


Another Apron with children. Note all the pictures on the left that have been printed onto fabric. This should be fun. Unlike my friend, Pam, who starts with sketches, then a drawing and works forward from there, I put an object/apron on the design wall and start building around it. All the ideas are swirling around in my head. Think I’ll make more paper dolls.

Yes, that poor little baby in the big christening dress and with the bald head and big ears, is me! Other pictures are of family and pics that have been found at estates sales. Which reminds me of going to a sale once with Arden, my daughter-in-law. We overheard two women saying to each other, “I hope people don’t paw through my stuff like this when I’m dead.”  And Arden said to me, “I hope people have as much fun going through my stuff, after I die, as I’ve had going through theirs!” Right on, Arden.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Another Apron”

  1. PaMdora Says:

    i love the paper dolls. yes do more, what a stroke of genius.

    Actually my process isn’t completely linear, but when I edit stuff for the blog, I guess it looks that way. When I’m doing the color sketches, I’m usually running back and forth to my fabric stash to see if I have any fabric that looks sort of like the colors I’m rendering. If not, I change the drawing to look more like the fabric I do have to see if it’s going to work.

    i used to feel bad about going to auctions when people have passed, but now I think I’m there to rescue and value some of the things they held precious also.

  2. PaMdora Says:

    I forgot to mention that this is the first time I think you’ve shown your design wall and how some stuff that hasn’t worked itself into the actual piece is still effecting you. It’s nice to see, and that’s how I work.


Leave a Reply

