Fantasy Flower


Opening on First Friday, September 5, at the Creamery in Springfield, MO, I’m participating in a two person exhibit with Lettie Blackburn in which she will be exhibiting watercolors and small art quilts of trees and I will be exhibiting photographs and small art quilts of flowers. Lettie came up with a great title, “The Nature of Things.” I’ll also be teaching a Fantasy Flower workshop in Jacksonville, FL in October. So, in preparation for both events I’m making one and hopefully two new flowers. I’m trying to photograph the procedure and keep notes as I go along. Here are a few photos of the beginning.

First a drawing

Fabric audition

Shapes traced to fusible interfacing and fused to fabric

Shapes arranged on top of drawing. Still open to changing my mind, but it’s about time to start sewing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Archives, Art Quilts, Flowers, inspiration, progress, workshops

3 Comments on “Fantasy Flower”

  1. Merrilee Says:

    So glad to see the flowers come back, Emmie. I still won’t send my tulip note cards away – I want to keep them for myself. Thanks for the tutorial!

  2. sharon Says:

    looks like a fun class ! where will your exhibit be ?

  3. Ellen White Says:

    My juices are flowing and ideas spinning around in my head for our class in Jacksonville. lucky Us.


Leave a Reply

