Transparent Sample


leaf.jpg

 

Yesterday I went for a walk in the woods. It was the first warm enough day to be outside and enjoy it. Actually, it was too wet to walk in the woods as there is still snow and ice on the northern exposures and the ground it too wet. So I stuck to the roads through the woods.

I started working on this sample this morning for a transparent quilt. It is a butterfly between two pieces of clear vinyl sewn around the edges. I collected these about nine years ago while visiting this area and before I moved back. Most of the plants and critters are still intact so that’s good; they have some stability. I’ve been yo-yoing back and forth between sewing the squares into silk organza or black linen. Suddenly, I realized the organza is like the snow/ice I saw yesterday when I photographed the leaf. Decision solved. Organza. One layer or two? Two.

sample-1.jpg

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

